In Political Poker – The Race Card’s Wild!

By Stacy M. Swimp

I am “dizzy”! Seems that from my left, all so called Black liberals talk about is “race”. Accusations and blame. Yet, from the right, far too many conservatives are “Black conservatives”, “Black Republicans”,  “Hispanic Tea Party”, “Asian Republicans and are equally obsessed with topics centered around “race’, as either a reaction to what liberals are doing or as a preoccupation of some other nature. It is, quite frankly, aggravating. Can we talk about political and social issues without always focusing on alleged race issues?! Btw, is there actually any other “race” than the the human race or am I just out of touch?

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Social Issues and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to In Political Poker – The Race Card’s Wild!

  1. Shelly says:

    “Btw, is there actually any other “race” than the the human race or am I just out of touch?” I’ve been saying that for years, Stacy and I’m glad you feel that way too. I refuse to use the word “race” when referring to people of different cultural backgrounds. Also, being from Indianapolis, I have to point out that RACE means fast cars going around a spectacular oval track!

  2. The race card is being over-played!!! We are all Americans, we have the same hopes and dreams, we share the same problems. We have more in common than we are different. I am a Christian, I love my neighbor, black, white, yellow, red, it makes no difference!! The only race is the human race, as Mr. Swimp said. God Bless America!

  3. Maria Lima says:

    I am with you on this, Stacy…100%!! i AM SO TIRED OF ALL THE DIVISION, and the labels, all the nonsense! We as Conservatives need to step out in faith and confidence and simply refuse to continue using them! We are Americans…AMERICANS! Americans who love our country and want to fight to restore our nation to its former exceptional place before God and the world. Stacy, I want to THANK YOU for your tireless efforts to end the division, and I want to commit to doing my part to join you in doing so!

    • sswimp says:

      It becomes a form of idolatry to some. I am not opposed addressing issues in a way that speaks to the reality or/and norms of different cultures..Yet, let’s do so with an American agenda in mind. Most important, with a godly agenda in mind. Not for the purpose of exalting anyone’s ethnicity or degrading it either. God bless you!

  4. DanaE says:

    I agree completely that the race card is used entirely too much,and USUALLY out of context. I will agree that there is still racism in this country. Sadly enough there may always be. However, as long as we continue to use it as a crutch, or more often a club against a differing opinion we will never get past it. The Good Books says “Love thy neighbor”. It does not say “Love they neighbor as long as he looks just like you!”

    • sswimp says:

      I like that! I will love you as long as you look like me!! lol!

    • mikegamecockdevine says:

      Yes, there will always be racism and all other kinds of hate in America and other countries, to varying degrees, until Jesus returns. Many people hate me for all kinds of unjustified reasons related to and unrelated to race. Human beings can’t be perfected in this life. But I can testify as a person from a white family that fought racism since I was a young boy that racism in the white community is VERY much less. In fact, to be a racist is taboo among those that do most of the hiring in this country and most whites period. I know this because I have inside info. I am with white folks when no Blacks are present and the change is impressive. Most bought into the MLK and Jesus arguments over time. God bless.

  5. Jess Greene says:

    Very well said Stacy! Time to cut up the race card and stick it in the G file (garbage). It’s been Declined! We all bleed Red….

  6. Stacy, you amaze me at every turn. Thank you for your continued insight and wisdom. I am proudly spreading this around! I pray also that everyone it will SUBSCRIBE to this blog as the content is outstanding and worth having sent directly to their email accounts daily!!!!

  7. mikegamecockdevine says:

    Fellow Human-American, could we all concentrate just now on Green-American money and reward politicians for policies that do the most good for the greatest number? Rather than using politics as a way to get over on others like the Mob? Of course, I speak of the Dem Party mob vs superior conservative Republican policies. More later in my soon to be published column responding to calls for a GOP “reach out” to Blacks.

  8. Amen. We are all Americans!

  9. mikegamecockdevine says:

    My promised column on calls for GOP “reach out” to Blacks:

    http://hillbillypolitics.com/blog/2011/09/20/defining-the-gop-reach-out-blacks-shouldnt-need/

  10. Kirsten says:

    Stacy, You are on target 100%. Every time I hear groups with color in their name it makes my skin crawl. It is high time we are loyal to like minded people with similar values, without regard to color of skin. I feel sad when I see this happening, it only serves to divide, not conquer racial issues. It is time we move past this. I even saw a conservative black woman in the tea party speaking of “black loyalty”, to my surprise it was even printed in the Red White and Blue. Why would any conservative speak of black loyalty? Lots of people were loving this article, I thought it was frightening. Conservative principals and ideology are being blended with liberal ideology in some circles. This needs to be addressed. I see you are doing so. Misplaced loyalty due to race is a strange and misguided idea that is destructive. Thanks for your message. Keep them coming!

    • sswimp says:

      Thank you for your faith, wisdom and patriotism. I agree with you completely about some conservatives “overlapping” liberal ideology. I see it as well. Some espouse moral relativism. I know of one professing conservative woman that is hostile towards the Christian faith. Openly so. Yet, is embraced by many “Black conservatives”, in spite of being pro choice and anti christian. Stunning to me, frankly. I don’t personally believe it is possible to be a true conservative and at the same time embrace moral relativism.

  11. Jeffrey R. Bulls says:

    I agree with you, sir! Tired of it.

    But let’s take this matter further….since we’re all Americans, right?? Let’s rid ourselves of labels PERIOD. Labels divide us. We’ll never do what’s necessary in gov’t — which is compromise for the greater good of a NATION — if all we do is stand behind our labels & ideologies…and never come to any agreements.

    Great post, Stacy!

  12. Wow, quality publish, You should check out your pageload period although, I’d trouble loading.

  13. There is noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made certain good points in options also.

Leave a Reply

