We Were Americans Once

 

By Craig Andresen – The National Patriot

I remember a time, it wasn’t so long ago, when a touchdown was scored, back patting, helmet slapping, jumping up and down and high fives were expected. Yes, even in high school. It was a score and it was exciting and the players were elated.

A while back, in a high school game, a player scored, dropped to one knee and pointed toward the night sky.  He was penalized for unsportsmanlike conduct and his team assessed a 15-yard penalty on the kickoff.

Unsportsmanlike conduct for for recognizing God. I’m not sure when taking a knee in the end zone and pointing to the heavens became unsportsmanlike but I do know this…

We were Americans once.

It used to be that invocations were given at events. They were given before sporting events, at social gatherings, in city council meetings and at public memorials. Today, this tradition has all but been done away with because, some claim, it might be offensive.

When invocations were done, people stood, men removed their hats and everyone bowed their heads. It’s not that way today and I don’t understand why or who would honestly be offended – but I do know this…

We were Americans once.

To read the full article, please click here.

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Capitalism, Free Enterprise, Social Issues and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

