Two Dimensional Attitude

By: Gabrielle Drew

“There are really only two dimensions to the concept of attitude — you either behave as though you are a victim of circumstance, or you take full responsibility for your situation.”
– Richard Rudd

Adults should be responsible for themselves and, if they have them, they need to responsibly care for their children. In addition, they need to teach their children individual responsibility, so they in turn will grow up to be responsible adults. (Train up a child in the way he should go, even when he is old he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22.6) When I say parents need to responsibly care for and teach their children one thing that comes to mind is discipline. Old-fashioned discipline included spankings. They seemed to work. However, we then had those parents who went overboard and used physical discipline to the point of abuse. That is no more responsible than allowing a child total freedom. Moderation and common sense. It seems when we don’t use either (common sense being rather rare these days), it only leads to more government intervention.

I cite this old example: We have the right to free speech, but do we have the right to scream “fire!” in a crowded theater? Responsibility. We are not only responsible for ourselves, but need to consider our responsibility to others. Yes, we have the right to own guns, but do we have the right to use them in a malevolent way? We have the right to drive a motor vehicle, but do we have the right to speed or drive recklessly putting others at risk of injury. These questions have been asked many times throughout the years. It’s a simple argument, but one that can somehow cause controversy. A fine line when discussing rights and responsibilities.

I feel that since so many people do not act responsibly and abuse many of our God-given and Constitutional rights, the government feels the need to become involved. Is this what has caused us to be living in this “nanny state”? Or, is it simply the government’s desire for more power?

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Social Issues and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Two Dimensional Attitude

  1. Gabrielle, I am going to share this on my own blog as well as share in the social networks. You think well beyond your age and have such a fantastic understanding and way with words. The Lord has blessed you. You will go places young lady and I am proud to know you!

  2. Pingback: Two Dimensional Attitude by Gabrielle Drew a 16 yr old DYNAMO | AllenWestRepublic

  3. Maria Lima says:

    Every time I read this young lady’s work, I am just a little MORE impressed with the depth of her thinking! I am so proud to count her among my friends, and so relieved to know there ARE young people out there like her..WAY TO GO, GABRIELLE!!

  4. Maria Lima says:

    Meant to say, THANK YOU, Stacy, for your vision, that allows you to find the best of talent out there, like Gabrielle!

  5. Adam Wilhoit says:

    Well put, Gabrielle! Keep on writing!

  6. Andrea Plescia says:

    Great job Gabrielle! I am so very proud of you!

  7. Grant says:

    Maybe you’ll want to get a twitter icon to your website. I just bookmarked this blog, although I had to do it by hand. Simply my suggestion.

    My site:
    rachat credit meilleur taux rachatdecredit.net

  8. Diann Halama says:

    Good article and right to the point. I am not sure if this is really the best place to ask but do you people have any thoughts on where to get some professional writers? Thank you 🙂

  9. I was examining some of your content on this site and I think this website is rattling informative! Keep on putting up.

Leave a Reply

