On the Sluggards and the Wise

By Joni Zenker George

Proverbs 6:6-8  Go to the ant, thou sluggard; consider her ways and be wise.  Which, having no guide, no overseer, or ruler, provideth her meat in the summer, and gathereth her food in the harvest.

I know common sense has taken flight from most of the United States and its citizens, but I like to think that someday, it might return.

I know it used to be taught by those at home, if it failed there, then it was taught in the schools, biblical wisdom is found in the antique textbooks I collect.  If it was missed everywhere else, most families went to church and the Bible is full of useful wisdom — and if folks weren’t able to go to church they read their Bibles at home.

The sad thing is, it might return from necessity–I believe we’re headed for another recession/depression.  Since our government is doing next to nothing about our debt, we’re going to see some bad, bad, bad times.

Our government is doing its level best to ruin our economy, they already devalue families, thereby creating more and more poor.  By spending more and more and more are ruining a lot of our budgets with inflation and a devalued dollar–and this is only the beginning.

There are other circumstances that are contributing to shortages of food, like our weather, and China buying up all the high-quality hay they can get from us, needed here by our farmers to feed livestock and dairy herds–they ship it back to China in the huge cargo ships in which they ship all their manufactured goods to the U.S….

This is not only happening here in U.S. with the bloated, overspending, and drunk on giveaways buy-the-votes types in government, it’s happening around the world.  Many, many countries are on the brink of bankruptcy.  The giveaways will have to stop.

I want to say something and I hope you won’t take it wrong.

My husband had a little granny, we called her Momo.  She was short, stout, and she had two really bad legs; they gave her terrible pain and she had to wrap them daily.

She had a hard time walking because of the pain.  But even then, she knew what a hoe was, and what sweat and hard work were.

When I knew her after marrying my husband, she was a widow by then for many years, and well into the age where she was collecting a small social security check.  But Momo always had plenty of food.  She had a beautiful garden.  She had full freezers, and in the late fall her little kitchen and pantry area was fairly bursting with canned goods.

Momo always had plenty to eat.  She was a good cook, and it was always a treat to set our feet underneath her table and enjoy some great green beans with potatoes–that she grew herself, corn bread, some pintos from her garden as well.  She didn’t always have meat, but that was fine.  She knew how to get protein without meat.

My point is this:  Momo was poor by all standards.  Her husband did not leave her with a pension.  But Momo knew how to feed herself and she always had a good garden making it possible that she could feed herself and to share with others from.

When we hand a “bridge card” or some other form of EBT to the chronically poor, are we really helping them?  What do they have to teach themselves?  Why is it someone else’s job to feed them?  I know, I know, they need help, but Momo never asked for help feeding herself!  She had some pride.

She bought basics like flour, sugar, corn meal, that sort of thing, but most of the food she ate, she grew.

It’s sad, but we seem to have taken the PRIDE from the POOR.

Here in Michigan, those that have been on the BRIDGE card (our form of food stamps) for longer than a specific period of time are being cut off.  They had ample warning and October 1st was the deadline.  You should have heard all the whining.

The howling has begun by all the do-gooders.

“What will they do?!”

“It’s not fair!!”

“Get ready! They will come and steal from you!”

“What about the CHILDREN!?”

Now, people are even saying that we must EXPECT an increase in crime and theft because people are going to “need to make up for it somehow”.

Now, those of us who do prepare for the hard times have to worry because of another “threat”.

I don’t like what our country has become.  We had more pride when we didn’t think it was government’s job to take care of everything. 

My husband’s Momo was a great example of that.  She worked a garden into her old age and was happy to share what she had instead of threatening someone who might take away a government guarantee to an easy life.

Government is best at making sluggards of those who could and should learn to be wise. 

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Capitalism, Social Issues and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the Sluggards and the Wise

  1. Very NICE j-o-b Joni! SO true. My grandfather was also considered “poor” on a tiny SS payment after 30 years with the postal service. They lived in the middle of the city but with his tiny back yard did the same as your Momo. If I had a well I’d do the same. =)

  2. I definitely enjoy every little bit of it and I have bookmarked your blog.

  3. dave lister says:

    Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will eventually come back later on. I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great writing, have a nice afternoon!

  4. Buy Burberry says:

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you are just too excellent. I really like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can’t wait to read far more from you. This is actually a great site.

Leave a Reply

