Of Soldiers and Celebrities

By Craig Andresen on February 15, 2012

Over the last several days, since the death of Whitney Houston, I have noticed a rather disturbing trend in social media.

Many conservatives, and among them my friends, have been posting photos and names of soldiers who have recently died and scolding those who have posted thoughts regarding Whitney Houston.

Really?

I get it, to a point. I do.

A celebrity dies vs soldiers who die. I get it.

Unexpected death? Tragic end? I get it.

There is a difference and it’s not about giving one more credit than the other.

Houston’s death was expected. Unfortunately it WAS expected and people have speculated for nearly a decade, that her end, due to a lifestyle which laid waste to common sense, was near. Houston had messed up her life, and like so many other celebrities, she had people around her who simply didn’t care enough to stop her, or try to stop her.

Yes, she made her decisions and in so doing, she lost the voice, the looks and the talent God gave her.

I get it.

I felt exactly that way when Amy Winehouse died last year. It was her fault and she could well have done something to keep it from happening.

What I didn’t do then and won’t do now, is compare her demise with those who have lost their lives protecting our country, our freedoms and our way of life.

No.

I believe we, as conservatives, are better than this or, at least, we should be. We should know better.

To read the full article, please click here.

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Social Issues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of Soldiers and Celebrities

  1. Duncan REgen says:

    This is a great article and so very true. Solders are the true heros, they do what they do not for glory, but for what they believe, WE have for years put way to much hero worship aon people who can sing or play sports well. Its time to change this.

  2. Joe Horenkamp says:

    Stacy – I was one of the ones who posted the Whitney Houston/U.S. Soldier reference on fb. My intent was to essentially remind people that we all are born, we live, and we die. In Houston’s case she left her Christian roots for the glamorous, drug crazed, self indulgent, Hollywood life style. As you say it was her choices in life that brought about her demise sooner than it should have. One of the problems we have today, especially with our younger people, is their bent on worshiping at the altar of stupidity – MTV and programs like Jersey Shore that glorify degenerate behavior, and idolizing entertainers that even include former gang members that never got caught mugging, robbing, and even killing. I don’t pretend to know Whitney Houston’s heart or motivations. If she put her wealth and safety on the line then more power to her. In the end she will be remembered for her wonderful music and substance abuse – not my idea of a hero. The contrast was simply a reminder in the form of the comparison of the character of a man or woman willing to put their life and limb on the line for the rest of us, and a substance abusing entertainer…

Leave a Reply

