Fighting for Your Marriage!

By Mike Fox

Marriage is not important to others

These days it seems like so many things are coming against marriage. So many from the top down, are vying to destroy the very fabric and foundation of marriage and its original institution.

A lot of people are so busy doing so many things that they don’t even have time to spend with their spouse. They are getting pulled in separate directions by friends, family, work, church, etc. They might not even realize it until it is too late.

It is important if you are married that you continue to work vigorously to stay close and avoid the temptation of separate lives in your relationship. Make sure that you spend quality and quantity time together. While it is easy to fall into the trap of simply “counting the time” to put into your relationship, you must ensure that the time is actually considered “quality time”.

External influences

Choose your friends wisely. Don’t have close relationships with people who are constantly talking negatively about their spouse or downing marriage in general. You can even let these people know in a positive way that you are happy with your spouse and you really do not appreciate negative chatter about your spouse, your marriage, etc. If you do not laugh at their jokes, they won’t keep telling them to you. If so-called friends are any friends at all, and they behave that way, they will respect you and your marriage.

Don’t let anyone or anything come in between you and your spouse. This includes friends, family, hobbies, goals, lifestyle, dreams and ambitions, co-workers, etc. Remember that your spouse is the only one that you made a vow to love and to cherish as long as you both shall live.

Speak good to me!

Also be careful how you speak to others about your spouse. Don’t joke about them or put them down in front of other people. This will hurt your spouse even if they are not there. Your words really do have power – either to kill or to give life.

How you talk to and about your spouse and your marriage will generally dictate the direction of your marriage.

If you talk trash, or negative all the time about your relationship, well… you get what you want. One book said that your tongue is like the rudder on a ship and a bit in the horse’s mouth. Your words will literally “steer” your direction. So, if that’s truly the case, speak “life!”

Deal with it!

When you have a misunderstanding, try to focus on just dealing with the issue. Do not resort to personal attacks, name-calling, and other negative ways of communicating. This will make them feel like they are not important to you and that you don’t care what they have to say. When they are talking, try really listening to what they are trying to say, even more than the actual words in many cases.
Fight! Fight! Fight!
We really do need to fight for our marriages. An article recently said that the institution of marriage is dying.

We need to have more happily married couples; not just “married” but “happily” married couples. We desperately need couples who will stand and fight for marriage, both their marriage and marriage in general.

If you are happily married let everyone know it. If you are not happily married, talk to your spouse and work on resolving the issues and re-creating the romance in your marriage so that you can be happily married.

If you need extra help in your marriage, try reading some of the many helpful books on marriage or you could go to a marriage conference. If you feel that the two of you cannot work it out on your own, it may help to see a marriage counselor or a marriage coach. Do whatever it takes to get your marriage on track and where you want it to be, so that you can proudly say that you are not just married, but that you’re happily married.

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Social Issues and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fighting for Your Marriage!

  1. Duncan REgen says:

    I have learned a lot from my previous marriages. I haven’t always been the easiest person to deal with, It always seemed to be my way or the highway. THat all changed when I changed my relationship with God. It became less about me and more about us. I find time to do things my wife enjoys, we make time to do something together each week, but most importantly we put god first. It’s really made a difference.

  2. irishsignora says:

    Thank you for this! How refreshing to drink my morning coffee while reading a piece that celebrates and supports true marriage!

  3. Angela says:

    I felt the same way as any other woman with heartbreak and What would I have done if not for DR. orinoko, my name is Mrs. Angela, I am 27. years old and I have a son. Unfortunately almost a year ago his father broke up with me because of a mistake I made and I just really want.him back. He is the best thing that has ever happened to me and I want.our family to be complete again, I want to spend the rest of my life with him. I read online that he helped a girl in this situation and I contacted him for help. I grew up with my parents divorced and I don’t want that for my son and I miss my husband so much and just want our family to be whole again I want the love of my life back and I can honestly say that because he is the only man I have ever truly loved with all my heart. So I seek help from orinokosolutiontemple1@gmail.com and he responded to me and he cast a love spell for me which I use in getting back my husband and I am happy and grateful to him for helping me and I want you all to also have the opportuinity I had also, orinokosolutiontemple1@gmail.com is the only through spell caster I have ever known. Good luck

Leave a Reply

