We Are Being Driven to the Brink

By Desiree Belsom

My name is Desiree Belsom, I am 14 years old and a member of the Laurens County Tea Party.
The most popular movie right now of my generation is titled: “The Hunger Games.” It’s set 75 years from now, in a society completely ruled by the government. The general population lives in sheer poverty, while a few select elites profit from the system of total government control. The most frightening thing about the movie is that America is fast becoming the totalitarian world of the Hunger Games. We are one national crisis away from the government seizing power. America was once called, “The land of the free and the home of the brave,” yet soon it will no longer be a place of freedom. In the past few years, we’ve seen our freedoms erode as the government continues to get larger and larger along with the debt it brings.
Currently, America is 15 trillion dollars in debt.  15 trillion dollars is a difficult number to get your head wrapped around.  Put it this way:  If every day, since Christ was born, we were to save 20 million dollars, we would still not have the equivalent of today’s federal deficit.  We are not paying off the debt- but instead trying to slow the rate of debt.  To give you an idea how fast it is increasing, by the time I finish this speech, the debt will have grown by another 5 million dollars.
The current administration is borrowing money it cannot pay back.  America’s credit rating has been down-graded and our dollar has been devalued.  Seeing what is happening in other countries gives an understanding of the seriousness of our predicament. The question is, if our nation survives, who will pay off the debt? The answer is my generation.  I don’t even have a full time job yet, but my share of the federal, state and local government debt is more than 180,000 dollars.
Something must be done! We can’t spend our way out of debt- no, the spending must stop. But how can we stop it? How can I stop it, how can you stop it? The answer lies in the Tea Party. By getting involved in your local Tea Party- you can make a difference. You can stop America from becoming the totalitarian world of the Hunger Games. You can stop the national debt from increasing even more. You can stop Obama from being re-elected. You can ensure a better future for yourself, your children, and your grandchildren. And even though you’re just one person, and I’m just one person, if we all work together, we can change the world. There is strength in numbers- will you join me?
About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Capitalism, Election News, Free Enterprise and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We Are Being Driven to the Brink

  1. Duncan REgen says:

    yes, we are being driven to the brink at record speed, amd none of the policy makers in Washington could care less. This is very sad.

  2. BJ Rodgers says:

    I am so impressed with Desiree’s article that I am printing & taking to my conservative brother in law to pass to his liberal friends that think we are doing just fine. I will pass it to others!

  3. Lindy Hayward says:

    Bravo!! Very well stated!!

Leave a Reply

