Freedom Is Relationship Based!

I have met a lot of people over the years in the course of my political activism. However, I have met very few people in the realm of “conservative activism” who really took an interest in me as a person, in how I am doing personally, in how my family is doing, etc.

My worth was measured only by my usefulness. By what I could bring to the table to help advance a political agenda or to assist in someone’s professional goals.

Growing up in a predominantly Democrat Community and home, it was the opposite. A lot of folks took an interest in me personally, but on the other hand, that was also usually under some unhealthy conditions as well.

So called liberals say they care about the social welfare of man, but are too often willing to sacrifice the spiritual welfare of man in order to achieve their goals, even as liberals are far more “religious” than the average conservative.

This had devastating economic consequences because concepts of social welfare that abandon Biblical ethics leads to destruction on all levels of human reality.

On the other hand, Conservatives say they care about the economic welfare of man, but are wiling to ignore the social welfare of man, which also comes at a spiritual cost.

They often don’t understand that social stability is required in order to achieve a strong economy. You simply cannot have one without the other.

So the indifference towards the human being and his or her reality leads to a number of problems which beget social instability and, ultimately, economic collapse.

This is why Dr. King said neither conservative or liberal held the almighty God in their hand and, furthermore, that “any religion that does not care about the whole man is a dead religion”.

In the secular sense, both Conservatism and Liberalism are spiritually dead, for neither has a complete grasp of God’s will for the “whole” man.

Standing upon Biblical ethics, regardless of who are we, where we are from, what conditions we were born in, and what obstacles we face, will lead us to where we need to be in upholding the concepts of individual liberty, a strong free market place of ideas, and limited government, for all of these things were decreed by God long before the liberal vs conservative paradigm.

Most of all, it will lead us to where we need to be in our personal relationships with each other as human beings.

If our relationship to God is unhealthy, then so to shall our relationship to one another be. If our relationship to one another is unhealthy, then so to shall our government be unhealthy.

It all starts with a relationship.

Food for thought.

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Education, Faith, Free Enterprise and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Freedom Is Relationship Based!

  1. Liberty Strategies says:

    Freedom is Relationship Based!I have met a lot of people over the years. However, I have never met anyone in the realm of “conservative activism” who really took an interest in me as a person, in how I am doing personally, in how my family is doing, etc.My worth was measured only by my usefulness. By what I could bring to the table to help advance a political agenda or to assist in someone’s professional goals.

    This makes me sad. We need to meet.

    Phyllis Bell Liberty Strategies, LLC Libertystrategies@yahoo.com 479-234-5044

    • sswimp says:

      Hi, Phylis, I appreciate your response. I don’t want you to feel sad or sorry for me or anyone. This post was meant to provoke thought in both conservatives and liberals alike, to make us look in the mirror and seriously question what we care about. If you think about it, how many of your conservative friends have ever invited you and your family to church, just to fellowship? Compelling, isn’t it?

  2. JG says:

    Points taken, I strongly believe starting in the 60’s vast amts of real love and care, along with both spiritual & financial support was given by many individual groups & the American taxpayer to elevate various ethnic groups. But after years many of us started realizing that the care and concern freely offered was not appreciated as there was no real evidence that situations were improving. All efforts had failed, even worsened because in my view this type of support didn’t instill in the people a desire to better themselves, pull themselves out of poverty or whatever their situation. Americans woke up and realized that many of our citizens were OK with just ‘getting by’ on other people’s money or efforts. That’s when the resentment started…why should we work our rear off to support others who are too lazy to hold a job or do the tough work like we had done to bring ourselves out of poverty and the hard luck situations we had been born into for generations? The attitude seemed to be “Why work, when the government will take care of us?” So our hearts became hardened to those who appeared to think they were ‘owed’ something by others. Were they any better than others to suffer hardships; where was the will to overcome adversity as many had done from the depression era? Contrary to some beliefs, Millions of Americans were not born with the ‘silver spoons’ in their mouths. God grants the privilege of free agency to choose who, what and how we want our time on this earth to be. Ignorance breeds ignorance….until communities with chips on their shoulders learn THIS relationship they will be doomed to repeat the cycle no matter how much social welfare is funneled toward them.

  3. Rebecca says:

    Stacy: what a compelling statement…

    I started following you, gosh, maybe a year ago.. (Time flies and I’m getting forgetful, time flies by too fast!) Any rate, your comments on your blog caught my attention and in a funny way, the reason was, a generation later you were repeating many of the same messages without the same words that came from the 60’s that I stood for. Your conservative values, (not party conservative), the pride and intelligence of being an American, stepping forward and speaking to the community (all colors) about the values of being an American brought back the goals, the passion of educating and informing the multitude to think for themselves… All in the similar values this humble person believes. How exciting and refreshing… You’re a great young man!

    The revival of Rev. Luther King, Jr., better, the picking up the ball where it was dropped with the tragic loss of Dr. King brings back inspiration and activism! Because of you, I’ve become familiar with Project21, Fredrick Douglass Society, re-discovering Alveda King, learning from Rev. C.L. Bryant, Mason Weaver, Star Parker, Jessie Lee Peterson, and many, many more.. The infusion of the passions bringing back the right kind of change. Bringing back the core values of our faith in Jesus Christ, the Consitution of the USA, uniting ALL Americans, (not race, color, wealth. AMERICANS!) will not happen over night. Watching your evolution into becoming a dynamic leader has been heartening, Stacy. The more Obama and the liberal agenda divided, especially the “booing of God” at the DNC caused such pain in my gut…. You instilled hope….

    You are always welcome at my table! I had asked you to come to Southern California, a while back, if you recall, however you have been going like gang busters, where God has led you. There is now much occurring in my life and once settled I’ll have to invite you to different region and a different table!

    God Bless you, Stacy Swimp… Your Contagious Transformation brings hope and pride in being a great fan of yours! I like hearing how you’re doing.. Eat well, rest well, and hope that gout stays away!

  4. rsims87 says:

    The substratum or bases of all relationships is me. Before I can get alone with you, I must first learn to get alone with me. Before I can appreciate my place on the relation-Ship I must first relate to its milieu… Remember, conditions on Noah’s Ark wasn’t pleasant but it certainly beat standing in the rain! Get the point!

Leave a Reply

