“Mandela Showed Me How To Defeat An Oppressor With Love and Forgiveness”, by Nana Kwame Akowuah

As a teenager I used to be angry with Mandela. I thought when he became president he should have done away with all the whites in South Africa and that will liberates that Blacks.

I was angry because I did not understand why South Africa had an indigenous African president and still the indigenous people were under oppression by White racis. ts.

When I say White please understand I mean only the racist White Europeans. Not all of them.

But now Madiba is my hero.

I take inspiration from him because through his leadership He showed me how to defeat an oppressor with love and forgiveness. There are three qualities of Madiba that I believe defines his personality.

PATIENCE

The Bible says, even the youth shall faint and be weary and the young men shall utterly fall. But those who wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength and mount up with wings like eagle. They shall walk and not be weary, run and not faint. (Paraphrase).

Madiba waited on the Lord for 27years. To put it in perspective that is how old I am. He even had the patience after gaining independence to share power with his enemies for five years to avoid strife and killings.

FORGIVENESS.

On the cross Jesus cried out, “Father forgive them for they do not know what they do”. When we watched what happened to the blacks in South Africa, I thought Mandela would come out and drive all the whites europeans away from Africa.

But Madiba thought me that “Revenge is fueled by fear, but in forgiveness there is strength” by Nana Kwame Akowuah, inspired by Nelson Mandela.

WISDOM

Wisdom is now having knowledge but know how to apply knowledge at the right place and at the right time. He never hang on to power. He knew when to step down. Underlining these three characteristics of Mandela was his passion for justice and freedom for his people.

He said “During my lifetime I have dedicated myself to this struggle of the African people. I have fought against white domination, and I have fought against black domination. I have cherished the ideal of a democratic and free society in which all persons live together in harmony and with equal opportunities. It is an ideal which I hope to live for and to achieve. But if needs be, it is an ideal for which I am prepared to die.”

You see they, White racists, were confused what to do with Mandela. They realize he was not afraid of death so they did not know how to punish him. They realize killing him will make him even more popular like Dr. Matin Luther King, Abraham Lincoln, John F. Kennedy, and Jesus Christ.

They thought making him live will get him to self distract. But Madiba like I mention above was full of wisdom.

He lived without a blemish till he died.

Some people call him communist and evil because they are angry. They are angry with themselves because they have tried everything they know to oppress the Black race but they end up making us stronger and greater.

They also feel like they have lost the war with the Black race. But to blacks there was never a war. We were only fighting for freedom and justice. So even after gaining independence we welcome them with open arms and our hearts full of forgiveness and love.

They are only trying to sabotage his image in exhibition of their anger. I just smile when I read such reports.

I am so thankful to God for the life of Nelson Mandela.

It is a contemporary example for us young people about the power of love that is talked about in the Bible.

(Editor’s Note: Nana Kwame Akowuah, currently riding in the United States, is from Ghana. He is a graduate of Saginaw Valley State University and Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Techology)

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Mandela Showed Me How To Defeat An Oppressor With Love and Forgiveness”, by Nana Kwame Akowuah

  1. Neal says:

    Not only did blacks achieve equality in South Africa, but let us not forget the “coloureds” (Klonkies) and Indians as well.
    I appreciate him for staying on the path of peace and reconciliation AFTER he had taken power. Words are easy before, but action later is more difficult.

Leave a Reply

