“Have I Done Enough?”: The True Question Dr. King’s Legacy Forces Us to Ask Ourselves!

“One day we will have to stand before the God of history and we will talk in terms of things we’ve done.

Yes, we will be able to say we built gargantuan bridges to span the seas, we built gigantic buildings to kiss the skies.

Yes, we made our submarines to penetrate oceanic depths.

We brought into being many other things with our scientific and technological power.

It seems that I can hear the God of history saying:

‘That was not enough!

But I was hungry, and ye fed me not. I was naked, and ye clothed me not. I was devoid of a decent sanitary house to live in, and ye provided no shelter for me.

And consequently, you cannot enter the kingdom of greatness. If ye do it unto the least of these, my brethren, ye do it unto me.’

That’s the question facing America today.” -Martin Luther King Jr. Remaining Awake Through a Great Revolution, Delivered at the National Cathedral, Washington, D.C., on March 31, 1968

 

Too many Conservatives fail this test of “doing enough”, as I have met few who will go into the poorest communities in our nation to personally serve those who have no clothes, shelter or food.

Instead, they will generally ridicule the poor for being in that condition in the first place and focus on the governmental systems they hold up as responsible.

However, personally intervention is hardly ever a part of the conversation.

On the other hand, those who are feeding the hungry, providing shelter and clothes to the poor, are also too frequently failing this test of “doing enough” because they are not teaching the true gospel of trusting God to ultimately transform the lives of the poor.

They don’t often enough teach “Seek ye the kingdom’, but instead teach “seek ye the government”.

So both so called Conservatives and Liberals would fail Dr. King’s measure of true service today.

One professes a false love of pity (so called liberals), which strips the poor of dignity and initiative, while the other (so called Conservatives) often features greater knowledge, but are devoid of love. Thus, they (Conservatives) tend to ridicule, demean and humiliate the poor rather than serving and empowering.

Both liberals and conservatives tend to worship their ideologues and political agendas more than they do God and more than they love their fellow man. Both exploit the poor for political advance on some level or another.

I am, therefore, convinced that countless of both liberals and conservatives will hear, in that final day: “depart from me, all ye workers of iniquity.”

In any event See the full speech at the following Link:

http://mlk-kpp01.stanford.edu/index.php/kingpapers/article/remaining_awake_through_a_great_revolution/

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Education, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Have I Done Enough?”: The True Question Dr. King’s Legacy Forces Us to Ask Ourselves!

  1. Pingback: The Need for Urban Christian Leadership. Part 2 « Oneworld01

Leave a Reply

