Stay Focused and Stay Faithful: How Christians Should Respond To False Accusations!

 

The Word of God says:

Then I heard a loud voice in heaven say:

Now have come the salvation and the power
and the kingdom of our God,
and the authority of his Messiah.
For the accuser of our brothers and sisters,
who accuses them before our God day and night,
has been hurled down.

They triumphed over him
by the blood of the Lamb
and by the word of their testimony;
they did not love their lives so much
as to shrink from death.

Therefore rejoice, you heavens
and you who dwell in them!
But woe to the earth and the sea,
because the devil has gone down to you!

He is filled with fury,
because he knows that his time is short.”- Rev. 12:10-12
One of the things I have learned over the years is that the number one weapon off warfare that Satan uses in attempt to tear down anyone who is truly on a mission from God is accusations.

Gossip, slander and vicious rumors carried by those who have no concept of God’s standard of love.

I have learned that I never have to respond to false statements made by anti Christian media or even by those who are on Facebook (i.e., posters, bloggers, etc), whether they are so called liberal or conservative.

My position is always that God knows the truth and unless anyone can provide substantive, material evidence against a Christian, no one called by the Lord has to waste any time trying to defend himself or herself from Satan’s arrows.

God is our defense.

The Word of God offers a great example of how to handle the wiles of the enemy:

The Prophet Nehemiah faced relentless attacks on his integrity and questions about the validity of the work he was called to do by the Lord, which was to rebuild the wall of Jerusalem.

In fact, God’s enemies even attempted to invite the prophet into a trap to kill him. That trap started with “rumors”.

Nehemiah responded wisely:

“But they were scheming to harm me; so I sent messengers to them with this reply: “I am carrying on a great project and cannot go down. Why should the work stop while I leave it and go down to you?” Four times they sent me the same message, and each time I gave them the same answer.”- Nehemiah 6:2-4

But they were scheming to harm me; so I sent messengers to them with this reply: “I am carrying on a great project and cannot go down. Why should the work stop while I leave it and go down to you?” Four times they sent me the same message, and each time I gave them the same answer.“- Nehemiah 6:2-4
Nehemiah knew that he could ill afford to allow anyone or anything to detour him from God’s calling in his life, particularly things such as gossip and false accusations.

That is a great lesson for all of us.

When God’s enemies, who are often wolves in sheep’s clothing (professing Christians who pursue mischief and division in the body of Christ) try to tear you do- keep on going!

No one is filled with the Holy Spirit and has a meaningful relationship to God operates through gossip and backbiting. True Christians know that that this is an abomination to God:

“There are six things that the Lord hates, seven that are an abomination to him: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked plans, feet that make haste to run to evil, a false witness who breathes out lies, and one who sows discord among brothers.”- Proverbs 6:16-19

True Believers try tr, o restore any brother or sister they believe may be in sin or caught up in something that may separate their brother or sister from God’s favor:

“Brethren, if a man be overtaken in a fault, ye who are spiritual restore such a one in the spirit of meekness, considering thyself, lest thou also be tempted.”

I recently had an experience where believers carried vicious slander against me. I felt tempted to defend myself and even debated with a friend, who is a pastor, that I needed to do so.

However, the Holy Spirit reminded me that the first response of those who love God is not to spread rumors- even if true- about their brothers and sisters in the Lord. Instead, love for God and the body of Christ will compel them to try to restore their brother or sister, who is in error, to the Lord.

God’s people know that gossip is not fellowship! Hence, I decided that God would indeed fight that battle for me and I needed not defend myself at all!

So whether involving a so called believer or an unbeliever, don’t ever worry about who likes you or doesn’t like you,  and what people say about you, etc!

One thing for sure, anyone who concluded that he or she doesn’t ‘like” you based upon what they heard about you, never knowing you for himself or herself, is not worthy of knowing you to begin with.

Nothing you can ever say will change the mind of someone whose mind is already made up without having had the benefit of facts, proof or even logic.

Stay focused and stay faithful!

 

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

