Why I distanced myself from the Tea Party Movement

A friend of mine, who leads a local Tea Party group in Michigan, recently sent me an email asking me:

Stacy, why have you completely distanced yourself from the Tea Party Movement, given the fact you- in the past- were an outspoken advocate of it,  have spoken at numerous Tea Party events across the nation  and wrote many Op Eds in favor of Tea Party principles over the past few years?

I think that is a fair question.

The answer is simple.

I had to do what the Holy Spirit compelled me to do, which was to distance myself from every secular movement and ideologue, instead focusing on Biblical worldviews and the furtherance of the gospel, which is the redemptive work of God in Jesus which is truly “the Good News”.

I cannot serve two masters.

Dr. Martin L. King, Jr., in a 1958 interview,  summed it rather well:

I feel someone must remain in the position of non-alignment, so that he can look objectively at both parties and be the conscience of both—not the servant or master of either. I don’t think the Republican party is a party full of the almighty God nor is the Democratic party.  They both have weaknesses and I’m not inextricably bound to either party.”

I have arrived to a place in my personal relationship with the Lord that I don’t want to be inextricably bound to any political ideologue, ideology or party.

Neither hold the almighty God within its hands.

The Lord showed me how I had been so wrapped up in ‘conservatism”, that I- unaware- was speaking more against liberalism than I was against the spiritual wickedness which is truly the larger issue.

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.“- Ephesians 6:12

For the record, there are many Tea Party Conservatives who share all of my Biblical worldviews individually. Many are pro life activists and outspoken advocates of traditional marriage, for example.

Nevertheless, no secular movement (political or otherwise)- as a whole- focuses on Biblical agendas, even as individuals within that movement may be on the right track in their own lives. Hence, I cannot stand upon the shoulders of any secular movement.

The Bible says: “Wherever your treasure is, there the desires of your heart will also be”- Luke 12:34 The priorities of my heart have to be based upon God’s agenda. Not that of political ideologies and political parties.

So I had to repent of ‘conservative idolatry” and focus on God’s interests ahead of that of any secular movement, including the Tea Party, which is inclusive of many worldviews that are contrary to everything I believe in (i.e., Libertarianism, Mormonism, etc.).

I cannot align myself with anything that threatens to force me to compromise on what the Word says about who God is, What God is like and what is the will of God.

Therefore, I have distanced myself from anything which stands to cause me to stumble in pursuit of what matters most to me.

Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us,“- Hebrews 12:1

Putting any secular concept, ideology or ideologue before God and His agenda is a sin and is a stumbling block for me. I just couldn’t do it anymore.

 

It’s not personal.

It is business. Kingdom business!

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

