What Freedom Means to Me, By Stacy Swimp

Dear Friends and Supporters:

I am honored to share that I have been featured as a “Thought Leader” in the ONE AMERICA – “Leaders Celebrating Freedom Together” series published in Houston Business Connections Magazine.

My comments, about what freedom mean to me,  are as follows: 

WHAT FREEDOM MEANS TO ME” – BY STACY SWIMP


Jesus answered them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Whosoever committeth sin is the servant of sin.

And the servant abideth not in the house for ever: but the Son abideth ever.

If the Son therefore shall make you free, ye shall be free indeed.“- John 8:34-36

Many times, when discussing freedom, we tend to think in terms of the Constitution, our nation’s public policies and what we call “individual liberty”. In effect, we often consider freedom as something related to politics and what man defines as our boundaries.

When I think of Freedom, I think of the kind of freedom that no man can ever give me:

Freedom from my own sins and the bondage that came from sin.

Having been raised in an environment where bitterness and wrath, alcoholism, mental and physical abuse systematically stripped me of all initiative to achieve; I became a slave to that which surrounded me.

Sadly, that resulted in my becoming even worse than anything I had seen or heard as a pre-adolescent. I was blinded by my own sense of being a victim and could not see beyond the moment, chasing one destructive goal after another.

When I accepted Christ as my savior, it was the most liberating act I had ever known. It is Christ who made me free. Who released me from the guilt, shame, and fear that once held me captive.

I was freed from the rage.

God delivered me and gave me a right to live a life of freedom as He intended it…Freedom of Conscience and of spirit.

So, today, as we live in a society where government seeks to persecute us for our freedom of conscience and spirit, I am without worry or anxiety, for I know that no matter what the world may do to me and regardless of what perverted law government sanctions against my conscience, no man can deny the freedom I have from Jesus Christ, for it comes from the Spirit of the Lord.

The Bible says to live “is” to be like Christ and to “die” is to be with Christ.

There is no freedom in our nation that will matter to me without a personal relationship with Jesus Christ. Furthermore,as we face a reduction in our freedom of religion in America today- -which comes from our Judeo-Christian values- society has found itself increasingly in spiritual, moral and economic bondage!)

In the final analysis, freedom, to me, means I have the liberty to be who I am in Christ Jesus and stand tall before any and every opposition to my faith and against every violation of my conscience, knowing that the Lord will show Himself strong on my behalf.

On behalf of my true freedom!

See the following Houston BCM link:

http://aubreyrtaylor.blogspot.com/2014/06/stacy-swimp-discusses-what-freedom.html

About sswimp

I am not an "African-American'. I am a proud American, who happens to be of African descent. I am Christian. My personal relationship with Jesus Christ and the Word of God shapes my concepts of what it means to be a conservative. I am Pro Life. Devoted to the principles of free enterprise, limited government,and individual responsibility. I believe in the sanctity of marriage between a man and woman.
This entry was posted in Education, Faith, Politics, Social Issues and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Freedom Means to Me, By Stacy Swimp

  1. Finlay says:

    You could definitely see your expertise in the article you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers such
    as you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe.
    All the time go after your heart.

Leave a Reply

